Vegan diet or Veganism as found on Wikipedia is the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, and an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of animals.
Vegans would generally avoid consuming animal products, not only meat but also eggs, dairy products and other animal-derived substances.
Vegan diet would include Vegetable, Fruits, Soy Products, Sprouts, Nuts, Nut milk, Coconut etc. This strictly avoids Meat and Dairy products.
On the other hand, Word “Halal” simply means “Permissible”. It’s a misnomer that Halal is Slaughter. Halal is about a Practice of Following Permissible actions.
Things that are Permissible in Shariah are included in the list of Halal Category. Halal can be any Product that doesn’t contain Alcohol, Blood Content, Skin, Human / Animal waste or any other Harmful Content.
By Comparison, any Halal Certified Product that doesn’t contain Meat and animal derived substances falls in category of Vegan.
It simply means any Halal certified Vegetarian Product can automatically be categorized as Vegan Product. And vice versa is also true (Subject to Certification)
People end up thinking that Vegan and Halal are contradictory terms. However, according to us they are similar, and, in most cases, they can be used interchangeably (if the Product strictly doesn’t contain any meat)
As a diverse and global society, we must all respect and adjust to our fellow human beings. Diversity should be celebrated and related confusion best avoided. We thought to bring this stark similarity between the two words although they are made to sound different.
Let’s celebrate the Halal Certified Vegan Products in our Daily Lives, lets take the Olive Route!
Do Comment and let us know, How you found this Blog!
Follow us on our Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/olive.route.in/